Decipher Tools Support

Frequently Asked Questions and Tutorials


Will using Decipher Phone Refresh/Decipher Activity Transfer overwrite my existing data?

Kelly Wilkerson

Categories: Decipher Phone Refresh / Activity Transfer | View Comments

Unfortunately, yes! Decipher Phone Refresh creates a "filtered" backup from your original iPhone backup, for using with "Restore Backup" in iTunes.

Restoring a backup in iTunes replaces (overwrites) your existing data with the contents of the backup (and only the contents of the backup), so restoring the Decipher Phone Refresh filtered backup will replace the contents on your iPhone just like restoring a normal backup. That means in terms of data (settings, app documents, etc) you'll have only the data from the backup on your iPhone after the restore.